top of page
  • Writer's pictureReece Money

In Detail Design | Celebrating Ametuar Designers

Updated: May 17, 2022



I made In Detail Design in order to help amateur creators learn the basics and help get people into using some of these amazing creative programs. I recently had the chance to talk to some amateur designers about some of the work they’ve created and what they liked so much about the pieces they’ve produced. If you’re interested in getting your work shared get in contact with me through the ABOUT section and show me what you can do! But for now, I hope you enjoy reading through this article and seeing what some other creators have made.


Name: Sam Marsden


Go to creative programs: Photoshop, InDesign









To start with it’s good to point out that I’d only class myself as an amateur designer. Since learning the basics of the Adobe software back in my first year of university, design has been something I have been determined to pursuit and continue learning.


My favourite thing about design is the creative freedom you have to create something meaningful and unique. One of the bigger projects I have worked on was to create a 12-page magazine using InDesign and photoshop. Ever since the first workshops I had on InDesign I feel as though I have been able to pick it up really smoothly, creating pages on sport in West London to a professional level using the adobe software. Alongside this, I have been constantly developing my skills on photoshop which personally I believe takes more time to get to grips with but once you get an understanding of the basics you can really master the ability to create professional design pieces, whether that is graphics for social media or manipulating images for print design work.


I think both programs are great and top of the range when it comes to designing graphics, editing photos or creating magazines, and both have very few flaws. Once you’ve taken the time to learn the basics and know how to use the software effectively, I’d recommend both Photoshop and InDesign to anyone who wants to enhance their skills in digital design.




Name: William Coles


Go to creative programs: Sketchable, Photoshop











The piece of work I want to talk about here is a self-portrait I created of myself roughly a month ago. If I wanted to pick out some of the things I like the most about it I’d probably say the main thing is the linework. I like to use sketchy outlines and kind of let my imagination run free. I don’t mind when there's errors in the artwork as I think it usually adds to the piece. Colours wise I like to keep the palettes simple, using different shades of blue connects to the mellow vibe of the piece and I feel shows off the mood I intended to portray. I liked how the piece sat on the beige/background, which I think was a clean backdrop to the whole artwork. Another key thing I like and to recognise is my Logo/signature I include in a lot of my work, it symbolises my name I use online, Wicamco.




Name: Bailey Pearce


Creative Programs: Premiere Pro, Photoshop











The work I am most proud of is an advertisement I completed for the collaboration between content creator NickMercs and Scuf. The piece was not requested but simply part of the process of me teaching myself photoshop in my first year of university. I was really proud of the colours I added to the piece and just the general aesthetic of it. One thing I would improve on now is perhaps adding more to the background. As well as making the outline of the controller not as large.


Thank you to all the designers who I got to speak to and allowed me to share and feature their work in this article. As mentioned at the start if you wish to have the chance of having your work shared in the next celebrating amateur designers article contact me through the ABOUT page or on any of my social media.






5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page